PR News Announces 2015 PR People Awards Winners


PR News honored the top professionals of PR at its 2015 PR People Awards luncheon at the National Press Club in Washington, D.C. on December 9, 2015. The event recognized the passionate  professionals who day in and day out are making communications matter in the marketplace.

PR_people_coolerAlso recognized were the latest inductees to the PR News Hall of Fame: Margery Kraus, founder and executive chairman at APCO Worldwide; Chris La Placa, senior vice president of corporate communications at ESPN; Bob Pearson, president and chief innovation officer at W2O Group; and Karen van Bergen, CEO at Porter Novelli.

Awards were also given to the the 2015 Rising PR Stars 30 & Under Award winners and the Top Places to Work in PR in 2015.

You can read all about the PR People Award winners and honorable mentions here.

2015 PR People Awards 
Winners and Honorable Mentions, 
and Hall of Fame Inductees

Hall of Fame

  • Karen van Bergen, Porter Novelli
  • Margery Kraus, APCO Worldwide
  • Chris LaPlaca, ESPN
  • Bob Pearson, W2O Group

Account Director or Supervisor of Year

Winner: Lauren Musiol, GYMR Public Relations

Honorable Mentions:

  • Ray De Lorenzi, CLS Strategies
  • Megan Feffer, Spectrum

Agency Account Manager of the Year

Winner: Candice Eng, INK PR

Honorable Mention:

  • Daniel Gregory, Susan Davis International

Community Relations Professional of the Year

Winner: Gina West, Fannie Mae

Honorable Mention:

  • Brian Graves, Sr., Community Unit School District 308

Crisis Manager of the Year

Winner: Karen Doyne, Burson-Marsteller

Honorable Mentions:

  • Yasmine Esparza, Newlink Group
  • Jerry Nappi, Entergy Wholesale Commodities
  • Jamie Schumacher, JMS Public Relations

Digital Communications Leader of the Year

Winner: John Mclnerney, Ruder Finn

Honorable Mentions:

  • Reed Albers, Entertainment Software Association
  • Brian Donahue, Craft Media/Digital
  • Stephanie McCratic, Acorn: An Influence Company

Event Marketer of the Year

Winner: Andrew R. Campanella, National School Choice Week

Financial Communications Professional of the Year

Winner: Jerry Dubrowski, Bank of America

Honorable Mention:

  • Ryan Barr, Burson-Martseller

Government Communicator of the Year

Winner: Shoshona "Shon" Pilip-Florea, US Forest Service, Pacific Northwest Region

Honorable Mention:

  • Adriena Daunt, Tourism New Zealand

Intern of the Year

Winner: Austin Courtney, Susan Davis International

Internal Communicator of the Year

Winner: Amy Haran, USANA Health Sciences

Marketer of the Year

Winner: Kimm Lincoln, Nebo Agency

Honorable Mention:

  • Anastasia Khoo, Human Rights Campaign

Media Relations Professional of the Year

Winner: Sol Colom, Discovery Networks Latin America/US Hispanic

Honorable Mentions:

  • Angie Larsen, USANA Health Sciences
  • Sam Moore, SSM Health Media
  • Jon Sullivan, Aflac

Professional of the Year: Agency

Winner: Victoria Baxter, Weber Shandwick

Honorable Mentions:

  • Spencer Baretz, Hellerman Baretz Communications
  • Rebecca Honeyman, Hotwire PR
  • Ilissa Miller, iMiller Public Relations

PR Professional of Year: Corporate

Winner: Trisha Cardoso, Showtime Networks Inc.

Honorable Mention:

  • Patricia Garofalo Fernandez, General Electric

PR Professional of the Year: Nonprofit/Association

Winner: Patrick R. Riccards, Woodrow Wilson Foundation

Honorable Mention:

  • Christine Nyirjesy Bragale, Mercy Corps
  • Bridget Weston Pollack, SCORE

PR Team Leader

Winner: Catherine Blades, Aflac

Honorable Mention:

  • Tim Johnson, UPRAISE Marketing + Public Relations

Public Affairs Professional of Year

Winner: John Guilfoil, John Guilfoil Public Relations

Publicist of the Year

Winner: Anna Treiber, Henson Consulting, Inc.

Social Media Professional of Year

Winner: Kelly Mahoney, CompTIA

Spokesperson of the Year

Winner: Jerry Nappi, Entergy Wholesale Commodities