PR People Awards Finalists and PR News People to Watch

PR News Announces PR People Awards Finalists

PR News will announce the winners of the 2013 PR People Awards at a Dec. 10 luncheon at Washington, D.C.’s National Press Club. We’ll also honor this year’s inductees into the PR News Hall of Fame and the 2013 People to Watch list of Rising PR Stars (listed here). To register to attend, visit For sponsorship opportunities please contact Diane Schwartz,

Hall of Fame
• Harold Burson, Burson-Marsteller
• Ellen East, Time Warner Cable
• Ray Kotcher, Ketchum
• Jack Martin, Hill+Knowlton Strategies
• Howard J. Rubenstein, Rubenstein Associates
Inc./Rubenstein Communications Inc.
• Gary Sheffer, General Electric

Account Director/Supervisor of Year
• Joanna Cochran, WCG
• Ilina Dimitrova, Sage Communications
• Lesley Sillaman, Havas PR, New York, NY

Agency Leader of the Year
• Fred Cook, Golin Harris
• Kathleen Henson, Henson Consulting
• Michael Kempner, MWW
• Marina Maher, Marina Maher Communications
• Andy Polansky, Weber Shandwick

Brand Marketer of the Year
• Marilyn Fancher, APCO Worldwide
• Chris Hook, AMD

Community Relations/Event Marketer
• Renee Harper, Havas PR
• Angie Miller, The James Agency

Digital Communicator of the Year
• Tim Baker, MWW
• Brett Holland, Pepco Holdings
• Timothy Hopkins, International Association of Fire Chiefs
• Jean Medina, Airlines for America
• Anastasia Khoo, Human Rights Campaign

Image Turnaround Leaders
• Katherine McLane and Rae Bazzarre, LIVESTRONG Foundation
• Christina Pretto, AIG

Intern of the Year
• Nicole Shimer, Havas PR
• Malena Silva, Waggener Edstrom
• Dan Turk, BWK New York

Media Relations Professional of the Year
• Rhea Davis, Fifth Ring
• Chris Hook, AMD
• Myra Oppel, Pepco Holdings
• Aaron Wessels, Point-Bl_nk Communications

PR Professional of the Year: Agency
• Craig Alperowitz, WCG
• Ed Davis, Fifth Ring
• Nelson Fernandez, APCO Worldwide
• Jody Sunna, Havas PR

PR Professional of Year: Corporate
• Scott Gilmore, Muller Quaker Dairy
• Chris Hook, AMD
• Stephen McGettrick, EMD Serono

PR Professional of the Year: Nonprofit/Association
• Julie Hamm, Henson Consulting
• Fred Sainz, Human Rights Campaign
 • Chuck Weber, American Pain Society

PR Team Leader
• John Casey, Havas PR
• Ashley Collins, USANA Health Sciences
• Shannon Eis, MWW
• Chris Hook, AMD
• Laura Monica, Pepco Holdings Inc.
• Michael Waldron, NextEra Energy

Public Affairs Professional of Year
• Patrick Riccards, Collaborative Communications Group
• Charles Territo, American Traffic Solutions
• Michael Waldron, NextEra Energy

Social Media Professional of Year
• Apryl DeLancey, BLAZE PR
• Christopher Penn, Shift Communications
• Greg Swan, Weber Shandwick

Corporations & Associations
• Tiffany Barnes, Cincinnati Zoo & Botanical Garden
• Adam Feigen,Heineken USA
• Allison Fried,Consumer Electronics Association
• Crystal Ghassemi, Dollar General
• Allie Henderson, USANA Health Services
• Naomi Hirabayashi,
• Kristal Howard, The Kroger Co.
• Rachel Johnson, National Safe Boating Council
• Shannon Kelly, Ubisoft
• Tiffany Koebel, U.S. Department of Labor
• Blair Latoff Holmes, U.S. Chamber of Commerce
• Katlyn Laverty-Wilson, Internal Revenue Service
• Heather J. Lennon, Advanced Micro Devices
• Margaret Case Little, National Retail Federation
• Johnnie Moore, Liberty University
• Javier Moreno, Toyota Motor North America
• Meghan O’Kelly, Allstate Insurance Company
• Mallory Perkins, The Coca-Cola Company
• Joy Phillips, Starz
• Erin Ramsauer, Newport Beach & Company
• Cynthia Saw, Check Point
• Emily Schildt, Chobani
• Christina Siderius, Vulcan Inc.
• Joshua M. Silvia, Hispanic Association on Corporate Responsibility
• Michelle Sing, Ernst & Young LLP
• Stephanie Tabor, Solazyme Inc.
• Amanda Tutera, Pacific Gas & Electric
• Samantha A. Un, Lockheed Martin
• Amy Wang, Kaiser Permanente
• Megan Whittemore, Office of House Majority Leader Eric Cantor

• Olivia Alair, SKDKnickerbocker
• Lindsey Bastani, Waggener Edstrom
• Kaitlin Bitting, allen & gerritsen
• Katie Blair, Vantage Communications
• I’sys Caffey, Edelman
• Sarah Coppersmith, Scott Circle Communications
• Katie Cosgrove, Henson Consulting
• Natalie DeNike, WCG
• Jesse Dungan, Infinite PR
• Alyssa Gardina, Weber Shandwick
• Chris Giallanza, MSLGROUP
• Michael Gonda, Weber Shandwick
• Susanna Hughes, Allison+Partners
• Kate Hunte, Finn Partners
• Christina Kaiser, APCO Worldwide
• Caitlin Kinsey, Marina Maher Communications
• Melissa Koski Carney, Fahlgren Mortine
• Danielle Kramer, Fresh Ideas Group
• Nick Light, Peppercomm
• Henri Makembe, Beekeeper Group
• Stephanie Manas, Ogilvy
• Monica McAteer, TogoRun
• Dana Metzger, Clapp Communications
• Stephanie Nordstrom, WCG
• Joel Payne, Qorvis Communications
• Rafael Sangiovanni, rbb Public Relations
• Taryn Scher, TK PR
• Jackie Titus, Weber Shandwick
• Vicki Voelker Bristol, Gambel Communications
• Lee Ann Zondag, Golin Harris

Editor’s Note:  Take your PR career to the next level at PR News’ One-Day Boot Camp for Emerging PR Stars Dec. 11, and learn how to enhance relationships with journalists at our Media Relations Next Practices Conference Dec. 12. Both events will take place at the National Press Club in Washington, D.C. To register, please go to

This article originally appeared in the November 11, 2013 issue of PR News.