Media Moves

In National News: Alisha Davis, formerly assistant editor at Newsweek, joins CNN "Headline News" as culture and entertainment anchor. Davis reported for the Society, Fashion
and Arts section of Newsweek and has been a guest commentator on "Headline News." Kris Osborn, formerly general assignment correspondent for Fox News, joins as general assignment
anchor. 404/827-2611 ... Newsweek hires Mark Updegrove, currently president of Time magazine's Canada edition, as U.S. publisher. 212/445-4000 ... The Philadelphia Inquirer
promotes Phillip Dixon from deputy managing editor to managing editor. He replaces Butch Ward who leaves in mid-July after 19 years with the paper. Dixon: 215/854-2000 ...
Michelle Kessler, technology reporter for USA Today, transfers to the San Francisco bureau and will be on a leave of absence until Aug. 20. In the interim, direct all press
releases to Julie Schmit, technology editor, jschmit@usatoday.com. When Kessler returns, email mkessler@usatoday.com ... Susan Brink, senior writer with U.S. News & World Report, is on a leave of absence until October. In the
interim, direct pitches regarding her coverage of healthcare news and medicine to Josh Fischman, jfischman@usnews.com, or Stacey Schultz,
sschultz@usnews.com. Phillip Longman, senior writer, leaves. No direct replacement will be named. Direct pitches regarding his coverage of
the economy, regulatory issues or public finance to Michael Tackett, mtacket@usnews.com ... In Business/Financial: Sharon Baker, staff
writer for the Puget Sound Business Journal, leaves to pursue freelance opportunities. She covers Microsoft and McCaw Cellular, as well as other high-tech and telecom topics. No
replacement yet named. Email press materials to Don Nelson, dnelson@bizjournals.com. Contact Baker at sbaker@maplehills.com or 425/643-3788. In Technology: Joanne Derbort, executive managing editor of the Industry Standard, leaves. No
replacement will be named. 415/733-5400. Eric Young, staff writer, leaves. Megan Barnett is promoted from staff writer to senior writer. She covers investment banking and works
out of the New York bureau. Email meganb@thestandard.com. (Media Moves provided by Press Access, a member of the LexisNexis Group,
617/542-6670 ext. 402, http://www.pressaccess.com)