Media Moves

National News: Mimi Hall, former Washington correspondent for USA Today, is
the new Homeland Security reporter. She will cover the Office of Homeland Security
headed by Gov. Tom Ridge. Phone the Washington bureau at 202/906-8242. Also
at USA Today: Brian Gallagher is promoted to executive editor. Carol Stevens
becomes editorial page editor. Owen Ullman is promoted from Washington editor
to editorial page deputy managing editor. Phone the headquarters at 703/854-3400
for more information ... Ty Burr, former writer-at-large for Entertainment Weekly,
and Wesley Morris, former film critic for The San Francisco Chronicle and The
San Francisco Examiner, join The Boston Globe as film critics. Call 617/929-3000
... Ashley Dunn, former assistant business editor, becomes science/medicine
editor for The Los Angeles Times. She replaces David Lauter, state/ regional
editor. Email ashley. dunn@latimes.com
... David Sylvester, markets and economy reporter for The San Jose Mercury News,
takes a leave of absence until mid- August. Email press materials to Mary Rajkumar,
mrajkumar@sjmercury.com ... Rebecca
Sample, beauty editor for Glamour, leaves. No replacement has been named. Direct
beauty inquiries to Lori Bergamotto, beauty assistant. Phone 212/286-8061 ...
Guilio Capua, associate publisher for GQ, leaves to join Gourmet as VP and publisher.
Lee Rosenbaum, former associate publisher of Talk, joins GQ as a replacement.
Call 212/286-8085. Business/ Financial: Darnell Little, technology correspondent
for BusinessWeek, leaves to join The Chicago Tribune as metro reporter, covering
computer and information technology. Email Roger Crockett, deputy Chicago bureau
chief at roger_crockett@businessweek.com.
To contact Little, email dlittle@tribune.com
... LexisNexis incorrectly reported that Bobbie Gossage is the staff writer
for Worth's new section, Self Worth. Gary Walther, editorial creative director,
heads the new section, and Bobbie Gossage is a staff writer for the entire magazine.
Email Walther at gary_walther@worthmedia.com
...Beverly Goodman, former writer for Red Herring, joins TheStreet.com as senior
writer covering mutual funds and taxes. Call 212/321-5713 or email bgoodman@thestreet.com. (Media Moves
provided by LexisNexis Hot Media News, http://www.lexisnexis.com/prsolutions,
908/464-6800 ext. 3862)