Media Moves

Lewis Braham leaves SmartMoney.com to join BusinessWeek
as staff editor covering mutual funds. 718/921-8922. John Shinal, previously
with Forbes.com, joins as correspondent covering networking and telecommunications
- a beat previously held by deputy bureau chief Andy Reinhardt. Reinhardt continues
to cover semiconductors, as well as science and health. andy_reinhardt@businessweek.com.
Shinal can be reached at john_shinal@businessweek.com...Matthew
Herper joins Forbes.com as a staff writer, covering future technology and biotechnology.
herper@forbes.net. Dan Ackman joins as staff
writer covering small business, policy, and venture capital. dackman@forbes.net. Davide Dukcevich joins
as a general assignment writer covering technology news, mergers, buyouts and
acquisitions. ddukcevich@forbes.net...Vanessa
Richardson leaves her reporter position at Redherring.com to join Red
Herring
magazine. She writes for the Forward section, covering venture
capital and private companies. vanessa@redherring.com.
Julie Landry now focuses on trends in venture capital investing and incubation
for the VC & Startups Channel. julie@redherring.com
Seattle Times personal technology reporter Peter Lewis is on a
leave of absence until the middle of February. Email press materials to Mark
Wantanabe at mwantanabe@seattletimes.com...Thomas
Melville joins Success magazine as assistant editor covering legal
and strategic issues and inventions. He also profiles athletes who have made
a comeback and athletes-turned- entrepreneurs. tmelville@successmagazine.com...Washington
Post
business reporter Ken Bredemeier now writes the workplace column,
On the Job. He replaces Kirstin Downey Grimsley, who is on sabbatical. Bredemeier
also maintains his regular beat covering Northern Va.-based companies. Fax 202/496-3891....Brian
McCormick joins Crain's Chicago Business as an associate editor,
covering entertainment, hospitality, media, tourism, lodging, and non-profits
from a corporate standpoint. bmccormick@crain.com...Time
Magazine senior writer Georgia Harbison will retire after returning from sabbatical.
212/522-1212.